Box Office: ‘Pitch Perfect 2’ Pulls ‘Dark Knight’-Style Coup With $70M Weekend

Wow, just wow… Pitch Perfect 2 just snagged a $70.3 million debut weekend. I’ve been discussing this film and the potential for a Dark Knight-style breakout for two years. In that time, I’ve occasionally written something to the effect of “I’m not saying Pitch Perfect 2 will open at $70 million, but…” as a way of not setting expectations too high. Having grown up watching films (Pearl Harbor, Blair Witch 2, Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle, etc.) get burned for not living up to hyperbolic opening weekend predictions, I tend to stay away from pie-in-the-sky predictions. Yeah sure, in my gut I knew Gone Girl was going to hit $35m over its debut weekend and I was sure months in advance that The LEGO Movie was heading towards a $65m-$70m debut, but I also didn’t want to be the guy that poisoned the well and put said studios on the defensive when they “only” debuted with $20m and $40m respectively. It’s a bad habit born of too much empathy, and one that I should snap out of. Once again, I shouldn’t have worried because Pitch Perfect 2 just snagged $70 million on its opening weekend.

from Forbes – Business http://ift.tt/1POyQmF
via Abogado Aly Business Consulting

Leave a Reply

